by Paul Boyd

The late, great Christopher Malcolm (one of the originators of the ROCKY HORROR SHOW) helped Paul to develop the show further and MOLLY WOBBLY'S TIT FACTORY returned in a lengthened and more fully-staged version for a run at the Lyric Theatre in July 2012 prior to a critically acclaimed run at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe throughout August.  The cast featured Christopher Finn, Tara Flynn, Orla Gormley, Kevin Hynes, Leanne Jones, Conleth Kane, Russell Morton, and Tommy Wallace, and it was this production that first attracted the attention of Martin Witts and Lesley Ackland of Leicester Square Theatre.

An exciting plan to produce the show in 2013 starring Samuel Buttery, Sophie-Louise Dann, Stephanie Fearon, Christopher Finn, Conleth Kane, Russell Morton, Shona White, and Gary Wilmot sadly failed to materialise, and later that year Paul Boyd finally became the sole rights holder.  As a result MOLLY WOBBLY'S TIT FACTORY, now sometimes referred to simply as MOLLY WOBBLY, became available to new producers for the first time.


Jamie Chapman Dixon was the first producer to take the show on, and he presented the show in a staged concert production in March 2014 at Phoenix Artist Club in the West End of London.  This intimate staging (performed by Alastair Brookshaw, Jordan Lee Davies, Kate England, Christopher Finn, Lucy Garrioch, Leanne Jones, Conleth Kane, and Russell Morton) won even more critical acclaim and five nominations at the BroadwayWorld West End Awards (including Best Direction for Paul Boyd, Best Choreography for Sarah Johnston, and Best Musical Direction for Simon Burrow), and ultimately reignited the interest of Leicester Square Theatre.

The entire MOLLY WOBBLY family was devastated to lose Christopher Malcolm, who died in February 2014 just prior to the show opening.  Great comfort was taken in the fact that the staged concert production at Phoenix Artist Club was very much in keeping with Christopher's overall vision for MOLLY WOBBLY and that the resulting discussions with Leicester Square Theatre would have pleased him greatly as they were in essence a continuation of discussions in which he had been involved back in 2012.


MOLLY WOBBLY opened at Leicester Square Theatre on 27th January 2015 starring Cassie Compton, Stephanie Fearon, Christopher Finn, Conleth Kane, Ashley Knight, Jane Milligan, Russell Morton, and Alan Richardson.  Audiences, who had taken MOLLY WOBBLY to their hearts from its very first perfomance in October 2011, finally got to experience the show in its full glory, thanks to the hard work and dedication of all of those that have been involved in the show over the years - previous cast members, crews, creative teams and managements, promoters and sponsors, and producers.


MOLLY WOBBLY'S TIT FACTORY was commissioned in 2010 by Northern Ireland's national producing theatre, the Lyric Theatre Belfast.  The Lyric Theatre had previously enjoyed a very successful relationship with writer, composer, and director Paul Boyd; his acclaimed ALICE THE MUSICAL was commissioned by the Lyric in 1998 (the show has since gone on to enjoy professional productions around the world), and the Lyric has produced hugely successful revivals of his musicals McCOOL, PINOCCHIO (nominated as Best Production for Children and Young People, TMA Awards 2007), RED - THE RED RIDING HOOD MUSICAL, THE TALE OF THE BEAUTY AND THE TAIL OF THE BEAST, and HANSEL & GRETTEL (still the most commercially successful production in the theatre's long history).


MOLLY WOBBLY'S TIT FACTORY is based upon a ten-minute musical of the same name that Paul wrote for the Mackintosh Foundation's 2006 Quest For A New Musical.  The full-length version was unleashed upon an unsuspecting public at the Lyric Theatre as a staged concert for a 10 night run in October 2011.  The original cast featured Christopher Finn, Tara Flynn, Orla Gormley, Kevin Hynes, Conleth Kane, Russell Morton, Liza Pulman, and Tommy Wallace, and the sell-out success of that initial run came as a great surprise to the theatre, the writer, and the cast.